Teach the World to be Kind!

Videos and articles meant to inspire!

Reflecting on the End

on December 5, 2014

So this semester is almost over for me. I skipped my last class (who wants to go to a 3pm Friday class anyway?), so technically my classes ended Wednesday afternoon. Besides being a dedicated student, I also tutor at the Writing Center four days a week. I have all types of students, and some of them have various learning disabilities. I have one student who I worked with a lot this semester. We were working on her final paper, and she said she wanted me to check what she had so far before we continued on. As I read her paper, tears welled in my eyes because I couldn’t believe how her writing improved! There were barely any mistakes, and her arguments were clear and well-supported. Now, I do not for a second take credit for her improvements, but I was proud nonetheless. I felt like I was meant to teach and help students with their work. No matter how stressed I am, tutoring helps me calm down because I focus on my writer and my writer only. I think my favorite part is seeing writers improve and get better each time I see them. It’s those warm fuzzy feelings that can’t be replicated anywhere else, and that is what I love most about teaching. So as I get ready to go student teach in middle school, I think I am actually prepared to go into the real world and teach. It is super nerve-wracking but exciting at the same time. So, yay!

The video for today comes from Channel 4 in the UK. A teacher uses a technique from The King’s Speech to help a student come out of his shell and give the best speech of his life. Enjoy!

http://www.upworthy.com/watch-a-teenager-bring-his-class-to-tears-just-by-saying-a-few-words-2


Leave a comment