Teach the World to be Kind!

Videos and articles meant to inspire!

Hugs

on December 3, 2014

On a chilly winter day like today, hugs sound perfect. If you’re not a hugging person, maybe a hug from a blanket or a cup of tea would be better. Warm hugs from anything are great, to be honest. I love hugging my family because it makes me feel safe and loved. I love cuddling with my pets because I know no matter how much I might screw something up, they will always shower me with love and kisses. With my mind on a countdown for break, hugs from the people, animals and things I love are constantly on my mind. Going to class and doing homework, however…not so much. I made a To-Do list a mile long, so hopefully crossing things off my list will help me feel better.

Now, back to hugs. Not only are hugs proven to be good for you, but they also send messages around the world. Hugs are a symbol of caring and kindness, and I am all about that life. I saw an awesome picture from a rally in Oregon. I’m sure most people have heard about Ferguson and all of the stuff going on there. I am not commenting on it here, but I will say I have been following the various rallies and kind acts following such a controversial topic. People stopping others from looting, community members gathering together to clean up the mess left over, etc. are all things that make me happy. I saw one article that was just too good to pass up sharing. I’m sure most of you have seen “The Hug Seen Around the World” on your social media sites. Devonte Hart held a sign that read “Free Hugs” during a rally in Portland, and police sergeant Bret Barnum took him up on the offer. The article below has the story, and I highly encourage you to check out Devonte’s story as well. Both are inspirational and remind us to act with compassion in our lives.

Article: http://www.oregonlive.com/multimedia/index.ssf/2014/11/photo_police_officer_and_citiz.html


Leave a comment